Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Mimicking Recipes

So, I'm writing a game where you are making dinner. You have 9 ingredients, and may choose two. There are then many branching paths (though obviously not a full 81 or whatever) from there. I'm having trouble figuring out an elegant way to do the very beginning - coding that initial set of choices. I know if worst comes to worst, I could brute force it and make like 81passages (First choice meat, and then first choice meat, second choice lettuce, first choice meat, second choice bread, etc), but I know there must be a more elegant and simpler way to do this. I've read about variables and expressions, and I have some very basic experience in coding with BASIC and the long-dead Adobe Director program (anyone else remember that?), but I can't seem to figure out exactly what to do. My first thought is to use checkboxes, but I'd have to find a way to limit the choice. And then, I haven't been able to find a more comprehensive guide for writing that kind of code to go with it. I've read the wiki, but I haven't been able to find exactly what I'm looking for.

Specifically, can I write something so after the two checkboxes are checked, then Meal=M,O if Meat and Oil are chosen for example, and then the game code goes "If Meal=MO or OM, goto Steak, if Meal=MP or PM then goto Spaghetti", that kind of thing? And if limiting checkboxes aren't an option, what recourses do I have? Would having two pages with radio buttons work better/easier? Any help is much appreciated.

Wait, like, could I have one page for the first ingredient, then the next page is missing/hiding that ingredient, and then the next page adds the two choices together to goto the appropriate passage? Thanks!

Comments

• edited June 2015
    I'd group the ingredients together by type, so meats go in their own passage, and vegetables in another etc.