Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Accessing Passage Contents Via JavaScript in Sugarcane

I'm not sure if this is possible, but I've been playing around with adding a sidebar to the right of my passage through appending a div element, and it seems to work fine.
$(document.body).append('<div id="rightSidebar">/*Contents here*/</div>');

While I could probably just write HTML in there, I'd like to be able to add to it using passages just for ease of use. I'm still a massive novice at this stuff, so if it's impossible that's fine, just thought I'd ask. Thanks again everyone :)

Comments

• edited July 2016
    I've got it working using
    $(document.body).append('<div id="rightSidebar"></div>');

var passageText = tale.get('Test').text;
    document.getElementById("rightSidebar").innerHTML = passageText;

where 'Test' is the name of the passage I'm using, seems to work fine. If there's a better way to do this let me know, otherwise I'll stick with this :) I'd love to get macros working too, dunno if that's possible though.
  • To render a passage into an existing element on the page you want the setPageElement() function:
    setPageElement(IdOrElement , PassageName [, OptionalDefaultText ])

For example:
    setPageElement('rightSidebar', 'Test');

• edited July 2016
    I use the GSAP TextPlugin to do this since it lets me replace the text with new words whenever I want. If you want to do macros just use TME's approach above. If you want to refresh the div to update variables you'd need to also connect the div to the postrender function.
  • Thanks TME that works perfectly. On the off chance someone reads this that knows something about Javascript, it's not a huge deal but I have a music player that runs off of Javascript that gives a script error the first time the page is run but doesn't do that after. It uses Jquery and Jquery-UI, and it gives me a
    volume.slider is undefined