Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

I'm having trouble with the usage of

Hi there.

I'm a complete newbie in twine 2 and SugarCube 2.18.0, and I've just begun using the arrays and <<for>>, so please understand my helplessness.

I've been trying to create a table associating the name of four characters with a color, which I've been successful at.
This is the code I've used:

<<set $name_stone to [
["Spring", "Summer", "Autumn", "Winter"],
["green", "yellow", "red", "blue"]
]>>

My problem starts here. At the beginning of the game I give the player the option of choosing one of the four names, which becomes immediately the variable $name1.
After that, I want to distribute the remaining three names to the NPC that appear during the game.
So, if you were to choose the name "Autumn", the other three would become "Spring", "Summer", and "Winter" (the order of which being unimportant).
Result: $name1 = Autumn, (and for example) $name2 = Summer, $name3 = Winter, $name4 = Spring

The thing is, I've been trying to do this with a for cycle that establishes these variables according to the player's name choice.
I tried with this code:

<<set $counter == 2>>
<<for _i to 0; _i lt $name_stone.length; _i++>>
<<capture _i>>
<<if $name1 == $name_stone[0][_i]>>
<<set $stone1 = $name_stone[1][_i]>>
<<set $flag = 0>>
<</if>>
<</capture>>

<<if $name1 !== $name_stone[0][_i] and $flag !== 0>>
<<capture _i>>
<<if $counter == 2>>
<<set $name2 = $name_stone[0][_i]>>
<<set $stone2 = $name_stone[1][_i]>>
<<set $flag = 1>><</if>><</capture>>

<<capture _i>>
<<if $counter == 3>>
<<set $name3 = $name_stone[0][_i]>>
<<set $stone3 = $name_stone[1][_i]>>

<<capture _i>>
<<if $counter == 4>>
<<set $name4 = $name_stone[0][_i]>>
<<set $stone4 = $name_stone[1][_i]>>

<</if>>
<<if $flag == 1>> <<set $counter++>><</if>>
<</for>>