Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How to change an image based on....something?

Hi there, I'm pretty new to Twine but learning a lot very quickly. I'm working on a small adventure game using Twine with Sugarcube and having a lot of success so far, but there is one small problem I'm having that I just can't figure out. I've tried searching the forums, and have tried a bunch of techniques, but I can't get anything to work.

Here's what's going on:

I am using the "Earth's Story Illustrated" stylesheet from this page http://www.glorioustrainwrecks.com/node/5163 (the one with the classroom), and creating an illustration for each passage.

What I'd like to do is make it so that depending on the player's actions, the image changes. For example: passage 1 shows a table with some items on it, and connects to passage 2, which is a close up of a particular item. On passage 2, the player can take the item. When they go back to passage 1, I'd like to change the image shown so that it makes sense with the text beneath. (Hopefully that made sense.)

I've tried using a few variations on addclass/removeclass/toggleclass to change the image, or add/remove a transparent image on top of a background, with no success, as well as some of the techniques listed in this thread http://twinery.org/forum/index.php/topic,1541.msg3033.html, and a few of my own ideas. I'm totally stumped.

Any advice or suggestions would be very greatly appreciated, thank you!

Comments

• Hmm. I am not sure if I'm misunderstanding, but I'm fairly sure that images can be "swapped" simply by using conditional statements (if, else, else if) and variables.

Here's an example of what I'm thinking of (not tested yet, mind you):

/% Start of Passage - Let's Call it "Classroom" %/

<<if $Player_Has_Apple is false>>[img[DeskWithApple]]

That apple looks good...and you're pretty hungry...

[[Take Apple|Apple]]
    [[Leave|Hallway]]