Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Problem with textbox in SugarCube

edited April 2014 in Help! with 1.x
Hi guys, just wondering if anyone can tell me what I'm doing wrong here.

OK, I have a combat simulator (well basic version of one anyway) and in SugarCane everything seems to work fine.  However, in SugarCube it's not so.  I have a textbox being called with
<<textbox "$name" "Enter Your Name" "Begin Your Battle">>
On the passage called "Begin Your Battle" I have a check to see if $name is left empty, using
<<silently>>
<<if $name eq "">>
<<set $name = "The Nameless " + $lclass>>
<<else>>
<<set $name = $name>>
<<endif>>
On that actual passage which is like poster for a boxing match (e.g Boxer A vs Boxer B) it works well, so if I chose the Asashin you see your name as "The Nameless Asashin".  When I get into the actual fighting passages the name isn't appearing for the player and just appears as nothing.  If I actually call the player something (Fred for instance) then you see the name Fred, so I'm a bit confused.  Surely the fact that it's displaying on the passage that it's set in means it should persist across the passages?

I know I'm probably making a really noobish mistake somewhere, so if anyone can let me know where I'm going wrong it would be appreciated.

**Edit**  Is there anyway to convert a number such 34.56 to an integer.  I'm sure I saw it somewhere and I can't find it again :(

Comments

• AntonMuerte wrote:

OK, I have a combat simulator (well basic version of one anyway) and in SugarCane everything seems to work fine.  However, in SugarCube it's not so.  I have a textbox being called with
    <<textbox "$name" "Enter Your Name" "Begin Your Battle">>

I would suggest:
    Enter Your Name: <<textbox "$name" "" "Begin Your Battle">>