Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sugarcane Save Game

edited August 2014 in Workshop
I am a new twine author. By new, I mean I am about half a year into it. I have 1 game with about 60,000 words in the rubbish bin and another one at 30,000 words currently in progress.

One thing I was furious about Twine, is that I see people having pretty little save game box from the menu and I do not. I checked and I am using sugarcune. I checked the pretty save game box and they are using sugarcune. So why can't I find the function. Am I stupid or something? After 3 months of occasional searching, because I put my time into story writing, I finally notice the different between sugarcane and sugarcube, and there is no sugarcune. (j/k)

Anyway, the bookmark link of twine in the menu by default is too expert friendly. I am sure that the game players do not want to figure out why to save a game you click the bookmark link. I want something both a 6 years old and a 80 years old can understand. Not to mention I do not want Undo.

Now, sorry to say that but L is too smart to have bookmark safeguards under Undo. He needs to know that the game players / readers are dumb, stupid, lazy asses. They can figure out the back button easily, but they find using bookmark difficult. We want them to be able to save the game through a difficult mean, something not easy, take many steps, time wasting and thus stop using it unless it is a necessity. So put bookmark ahead of undo please. no joke.

For now, I have written a single, noob passage with no scripting to let the 6 years old user to save their game, using the newly implemented bookmark() with twine 1.4.2, with instruction, and I am sharing this with everyone. If you have better idea, in term of easy management and housekeeping, please share yours too. I want to save the soul of the next poor writer who want nothing but a save game mechanism.