Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Substrings in Twine

Hi, I'm new to Twine and using it to complete my MSc Dissertation.

How would I use substrings in Twine? I have a name entry prompt and I'd like to use the initials from the entered name.

Thank you,

Bison

Comments

• Although the Twine story formats don't have a built in macro for doing this they do allow you to use java-script features.

The following example shows one method of extracting the first letter of each word contained within a string variable using a Regular Expression.

<<set $name to "The Quick Brown Fox">>\
    <<set $initials to $name.match(/\b\w/g).join('')>>\
    Extract the first letter of each word: "<<print $name>>" => "<<print $initials>>"

<<set $name to "the quick brown fox">>
    <<set $initials to $name.match(/\b\w/g).join('')>>\
    Try same with lowercase letters: "<<print $name>>" => "<<print $initials>>"
  • I'd probably go about this by using javascript's split function in two passes. The above PROBABLY works better, as I am more artist/writer than I am a programmer. My solutions are sometimes unnecessarily "brute force."

/% Assuming the result from input is a string with two words, separated by a space, this should break it into an array of two separate strings %/
    <<set $Full_Name_Array = $Input_Results.split(" ");>>

/% Now we can break up each of the two names into component characters (i.e. [J,o,h,n] and [S,m,i,t,h]) using the same method. %/

<<set $First_Name_Array = $Full_Name_Array[0].split('"");>>
    <<set $Last_Name_Array = $Full_Name_Array[1].split('"");>>

/% Finally, we simply take the first item in each array and assign it to it's own initial variable %/

<<set $First_Initial = $First_Name_Array[0];>>
    <<set $Second_Initial = $Last_Name_Array[0];>>

<<print $First_Initial + "." + $Second_Initial;>>