Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Creating an Inventory

I am just starting out on Twine and am starting to feel like I'm getting the hang of it, but I want to go beyond just a simple choose-your-own-adventure game. Creating an in-game inventory feels like it would be a good starting point, but I know nothing about coding and any explanations that I find online are right on the border between understandable English and CSS gibberish.
Assuming I know little to nothing about coding, how would I go about making a simple inventory? (i.e., containing quest items and miscellaneous garbage). And on a similar note, how could I make a record of the player's stats in the game? Would the two concepts be alike in how they're done?
Again, this is assuming that I know nothing about coding and that I'm only just starting to learn how to do it correctly.

Comments

• As suggested in this topic you may want to read this article.
  • Is there any place where something like this is explained in a tutorial? Or could someone just flat-out spell it out for me in the layman's terms
  • You can use variables to track what is happening in your game. This can be anything from how much health the player has to whether the player has found the Dagger of Doom yet. As the Twine Wiki link explains you use the <<set>> macro to assign a value to a variable.

Following is an example of assigning some variables and then using those variables in your game.
    (note: The first four lines that start with the <<set>> macro should be added to your games StoryInit passage, the last two lines could be added to your Start passage.)

<<set $my_health to 100>>
    <<set $my_colour to "Grey">>
    <<set $my_race to "Elf">>
    <<set $has_doom_dagger to false>>

My name is <<print $my_colour + $my_race>>, my health is currently at <<print $my_health>>%
    I <<if $has_doom_dagger>>have<<else>>have not<<endif>> found the Dagger of Doom.