Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

VN Style Twine Game

edited December 2014 in Workshop
I am back from the dead with some new stuff to show. Sorry, Sharpe. PM me so we can talk again will you?

Some people might remember the tons of work I did way back when on an engine within an engine (a TON of macros in Twine to do some really neat stuff). I did a working combat, inventory, paperdoll, and messagebox system. See that stuff here: http://twinery.org/forum/index.php/topic,751.msg1191.html#msg1191

Right now I'm working on a few tweaks so my engine can handle Visual Novel style games as well. After a single day of coding, this is a mockup of an intro I did:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W_HXDmwdIpg

Truthfully, a lot of it was making that pretty title background with the spinning planets and stuff, but the end result is something anybody would call a full fledged VN engine. If there is interest I can answer some questions. I might be able to upload some scripts but it would take some time to get them all together and I couldn't really offer any OFFICIAL support.

Excited to be working on Twine again though! Here are some screens from the video. And Merry Christmas / Happy New Year!

undefined

undefined

undefined

Comments

• Wow, this looks incredible! Kudos for all the effort you've put in!
  • Just wanted to say that this is absolutely spell-binding!
    I'm a graphic artist too, and am doing something different but similar.
    It's nice to see other people expanding the graphical aspects of Twine... I really want to see how this continues.
  • This looks really neat. Most people would be surprised that this is Twine. If you ever get around to publishing scripts, I'm particularly interested in your messageboxes and cursers.
  • This looks great, CoraBlue! Seconding guy231: I definitely wouldn't have guessed this was Twine.