Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Deactivate two links when clicking on one

I'm very new to Twine! I tried to search for this but wasn't sure exactly what wording to use and didn't find anything in my searches.

I want to have the user take part in a conversation. There would be two clickable links, and the one you pick slightly alters the flow of the conversation. But I want both links to become non-clickable when you click either one of them, because things start to look weird if the user clicks through the conversation normally and then goes back and clicks on everything that's still clickable. If that makes sense. So it would be something like this:
Do you want to do the thing?

[I'd love that!]<Yes|
[Well...]<Maybe|

(Click: ?Yes)[Yay!](Click: ?Maybe)[Pleeeeease?

[Well okay.]<Okay|]

(Click: ?Okay)[Yay!]
Except that when you click ?Yes, ?Maybe also becomes deactivated, and when you click ?Maybe, ?Yes also becomes deactivated. Does this make sense?

Comments

• Hmm I managed to completely remove the links.
    Do you want to do the thing?

[I'd love that!]<Yes|
    [Well...]<Maybe|

(Click: ?Yes)[Yay!(replace: ?Maybe)[]](Click: ?Maybe)[Pleeeeease?

[Well okay.(replace: ?Yes)[]]<Okay|]

(Click: ?Okay)[Yay!]
    This is a good enough solution if I can't figure out the other way.
  • I've been playing with a few different solutions for handling a conversation. I started out doing something similar to what you're doing, but it quickly became unreadable for long conversations.

One option that worked for me was to have a |body>[] hook and a |options>[] hook. You append to the body hook and replace the option hook at every "turn" in the conversation. This is a lot of overhead for a short conversation, but for longer conversations, you can have your conversation span several passages and have each passage be fairly readable:

Passage 1:
    [Do you want to do the thing?]<body|