Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

multine textinput, textarea?

Hello,

I'm new to Twine, but I've been trying to figure out how to modify the textinput macro to allow multiline user input, and then save the result to a variable. Is there a straightforward way to do this, and allow textinput to use <textarea ...> or some such (e.g. <textarea name="description" cols="40" rows="5" id = "mytext"></textarea>)?

Thanks.
Wally

Comments

• You need to state which story format you are using as the answer is different depending on which you are using.
  • Sorry - I'm using Jonah right now, but I only just started so I'm more than willing to switch to any format that would allow this functionality. Please let me know if you have an answer for a different format, or if you recommend a particular format for a game with a lot of text inputs of this time.
  • Creating a new <<textarea>> macro is fairly easy and the existing javascript code you would want to based your new macro on is this. A simple version would look something like the following:

version.extensions.textAreaMacro = {
    major: 1,
    minor: 0,
    revision: 0
    };

macros.textarea = {
    handler: function (A, C, D, parser) {
    var match,
    class_ = C.replace('area','Area'),
    q = A.querySelectorAll('textarea'),
    id = class_ + "|" + ((q &amp;&amp; q.length) || 0);
    input = insertElement(null, 'textarea', id, class_);
    input.name=D[0];
    // IE 8 support - delay insertion until now
    A.appendChild(input);
    if (D[1]) {
    match = new RegExp(Wikifier.linkFormatter.lookahead).exec(parser.fullMatch());
    if (match) {
    Wikifier.linkFormatter.makeLink(A,match, macros.button.callback, 'button');
    } else {
    Wikifier.linkFormatter.makeLink(A,[0,(D[2] || D[1]),D[1]], macros.button.callback, 'button');
    }
    }
    }
    };