Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Change passage automatically?

I am new to Twine 2 and I have a, what I think a great idea of an adventure. :)

But I have ran into a problem... one passage makes a move to a new one based on what numer is randomly picked.
How do I do that?

(if: random(0,9) > 4) is my guess... no idea if am even close to the solution.

Comments

• Welcome to Twine 2!

When you start using Twine 2, by default you are using a style called "Harlowe," this determines the syntax for links and functions and everything you can do. So I'm going to talk about how to do things in Harlowe, which is almost certainly what you're using. (This will matter if you encounter a problem, because the answer will be different for Harlowe than for some other style)

There's a lot of information about what you can do in Harlowe at:
    http://twine2.neocities.org/

To answer your specific question, I understand that you're trying to pick a passage name for the user to visit randomly from two or more options. There are many different ways to do that in Harlowe, depending on the specifics of what you want to achieve. Here are a few of the simpler ones.

You could start out by picking randomly from a set of strings that represent passage names. You can do this using (either:).
    (either:"passage name","other passage name","third passage name")
    In this way, you can easily select one of several strings. They don't have to be passage names - for what you're trying to do, they would be, but you could also just say
    The sky is (either:"blue","starlit","cloudy").
    You can put as many strings as you want. In your case you'd want to put in the passage names you want to choose from, and then use the result in your passage link.