Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Help With Variables.

Hello. I'm new to Twine and I've been using this resource to learn about different commands. http://twine2.neocities.org/ But, I'm not able to figure out how to set variables based on choices made by the player.

Say I give the player four speech options. I want to be able to have four different variations of another character's reply which are each based on the speech option chosen. So far, I've been able to do this by having four passages that are slightly different. But, this takes up tons of space. I'd prefer to have each speech option link to the same passage, but have four different hooks where only one is shown based on the player's choice of speech options.

I do know how to set variables, but only based on what pages are visited, and not on what choice are made.

Thank you.

Comments

• In Twine 1 story formats as well as SugarCube there is a type of link know as a Setter Links that allows to assign/set variables when a user clicked on them, Harlowe currently does have this type of link.

One way to simulate Setter Links in Harlowe is by using a link, set, and goto macro combo like the following:

(link: "Option 1" )[(set: $var to "A")(goto: "Next Passage")]
    (link: "Option 2" )[(set: $var to "B")(goto: "Next Passage")]
    You can also simulate a Setter Link is by using a hook, click, set, and goto macro combo like the following:

[Option 1]<link1|
    [Option 2]<link2|

(click: ?link1)[(set: $var to "A")(goto: "Next Passage")]
    (click: ?link2)[(set: $var to "B")(goto: "Next Passage")]
    In the Next Passage passage you can selectively show text based on the value of the variable:

(if: $var is "A")[The text to be shown if Option 1 was selected in previous passage.]
    (if: $var is "B")[The text to be shown if Option 2 was selected in previous passage.]
  • Thank you. Will this work in Twine 2 as well?
  • Thorston wrote: