Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Several questions: Hooks, History, and Setter Links

Hi, I'm brand new to twine and running into some difficulties.

First, I am getting a "missing ] after element list error" for the following hook:

leaving me behind in a pool of my own(if: $bloodied lte 1) [[[blood. | Art Gallery]]]

I did put an extra bracket at the start and end but it doesn't register I guess?

Second, I have a "Missing ) after argument list" for the following:

(if: $light is 0 and not $history: contains "Art Gallery")

I'm guessing I need some parentheses for adding the not history condition but I've tried multiple combinations and all of them return syntax errors. Is there something about using "and" statements I don't understand?

I also couldn't find any documentation about using "setter links" to alter variables in this version.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• If you haven't seen it yet, the Harlowe documentation.

Sinthioth wrote:

First, I am getting a "missing ] after element list error" for the following hook:
    leaving me behind in a pool of my own(if: $bloodied lte 1) [[[blood. | Art Gallery]]]

You have two issues here:
    [list type=decimal]
    There is no lte operator in Harlowe, you want the <= operator.  That's what's causing the "missing ]" error.
    You probably do not want to put leading/trailing whitespace in your link markup.  Harlowe treats leading and trailing whitespace in the link markup as significant, meaning your like goes to " Art Gallery" (note the leading whitespace) instead of "Art Gallery" as you probably intended.

Sinthioth wrote:

Second, I have a "Missing ) after argument list" for the following:
    (if: $light is 0 and not $history: contains "Art Gallery")

You murdered the (history:) macro and it seems that you must wrap the history contains expression in parens or it breaks when used with the not operator.  For example: