Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Harlowe 1.1.0

edited March 2015 in Help! with 2.0
Hiyas,

I am just getting into Twine 2 and really enjoying absolutely everything so far, however I keep hitting into some of the bugbears in Harlowe 1.0.1.

I see that most of the issues I am running into are fixed in the new (unreleased) version, 1.1.0, and would really like to give this new version a try (knowing full well of course that this is pre-release and therefore cutting edge, I am willing to get a few nicks in the process)

Is there anyway to import this new version of the Harlowe format into the Twine 2 Online version?
I have already imported the really awesome "Illume" proofing format, so I know the process, I just am unsure what link to put into the import dialog.

Kind thanks in advance,
P

Comments

• As far as I am aware there is currently no on-line version of the 1.1.0 Harlowe format.js file, instead you need to download the Harlowe source code and build your own copy of the file.

This process is talked about in this thread and this threat. Once you have built the format.js file you would need to host the file on a web-server, either locally or remotely, and then added it to on-line Twine 2 like any other story format.
  • Thank you kindly Greyelf :)

I will give that a try.
  • It may be worth noting, that those on Windows will need to install additional tools to get this working, aside from grunt, npm and node.js.
    I got it working by installing the below, but I suspect that I only needed the top item, I installed all three at the same time and the format.js compiled without any issue. Under a *Nix based system, you would already have the first two in all likely (or gcc, which is the *nix equivalent for VC++)