Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Twine beginner guide/Advice?

Hey guys I'm new to twine and recently discovered it. I'm very excited about it.

I've been trying to learn the code but find that some code that works with twine 1.42 doesn't work with 2 and vice versa. Because of that I haven't gotten very far at all. Can anyone point me to a guide that is either exclusively 1.42 or 2.0?

Or alternatively, can someone tell me the fundamentals of either one? I think once I know the foundation it'll be enough to go in any direction I want to go. Specifically, variable manipulation (declaring/saving/updating/adding/subtracting), logic code using variables(if/then checking), and how to generate + save a random number from a range?

I'm going for a short story involving encounters and little side quests. I think knowing those 3 fundamentals will be enough for me to basically macgyver my way through the rest.

Comments

• edited July 2015
    It depends on what story format you're using.

The only story format that is available in both 1.4.2 and 2.0 (and I recommend 1.4.2 with SugarCube 2) is SugarCube. For its code that addresses all your questions, see http://www.motoslave.net/sugarcube/
  • Hi,

What would motivate the recommendation of 1.4.2 over 2.0, since you'd be using Sugarcube 2 in both?

Genuinely interested since I'm fairly new to Twine and still can't find any perk in using 1.4.2 over 2.0.

Thanks!
  • edited July 2015
    Twine 1.4.2 has a lot of perks over Twine 2:

1. Has syntax highlighting for SugarCube, Twine 2 does not
    2. Allows you to edit the HTML structure if you want to put in extra divs for graphical effects like changing background images. Twine 2 forces you to do that via Javascript, which is an ugly way to do it