Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

External Link to the Story

It's Posible tu use a external link to a specific passage of the story? I'm trying to make a live story with QR codes and it would be great :)

Comments

• Maybe it's that I'm a novice, but it seems like more information would be helpful. Are you trying to place a QR code in your story to lead out of it, so that the player scans it and it takes them to info on the web. Or to make one to come from outside into a passage? Seems like a little more info would be helpful. What do YOU mean by 'live story'? I'm guessing you want a 'Doom 3' or 'Missing' type thing where things in the game happen and players can go out on the net a find stuff out?

Like I said though, I'm a novice and maybe that's why I don't get what you're saying, but a little more info never hurt. :) Just trying to help.
  • edited August 2015
    The impression I got was Klain wants to make an ARG where people can find QR codes, which link directly to a passage within a story. So a QR code for the link

http://story_url?p=startpassage

would start with the passage called startpassage rather than the default start point.
    There doesn't seem to be a way in twine to read the GET parameters, so in order for this to work you need to use some javascript to set a variable, and then in twine display the passage that this variable points to.

Add the following to the story's javascript
    Wikifier.setValue("$startPassage", "");
    var queryDict = {};
    location.search.substr(1).split("&").forEach(function(item) {queryDict[item.split("=")[0]] = item.split("=")[1]});
    if(queryDict["p"]){Wikifier.setValue("$startPassage", queryDict["p"]);}

And then put this in the story's start passage
    <<set $validStarts to [List of valid start passages]>>
    <<if $validStarts.contains($startPassage)>><<display $startPassage>><<else>><<display "default">><</if>>