Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Party recognition issue

I'm sure this is simple, but I'm very new to Twine and hoping someone is willing to help.

I want to have scenarios where the number of party members needs to = 2 in order to pass a section of the game.

How I've currently done it:

Set party to 1 in main screen.
Set party to 2 once you meet the second member.
If party = 2 on encounter, move on to X screen.
If party < 2 on encounter, move to Y screen (game over).

Right now though it's displaying both options upon encounter and giving an error message that the script needs to be boolean.

Hmmkay. How would you all accomplish what I am trying to do here? If it helps to upload my HTML file I can, just on my mobile right now so don't have it.

Thanks so much for anyone who responds!!

Comments

• First of if you want to check if a variable is a certain number you need to use
    (if: $party is 2)

rather than (if: $party = 2)
    Now i'm not sure if this is what you want, but you can try this:
    Main screen:
    (set: $party to 1)

Meeting second member:
    (set: $party to $party + 1)

Encounter screen:
    (if: party >= 2)[(goto: "X screen")]
    (else:)[(goto: "Y screen")]

Hope this helps.
  • You need to state which story format you are using, as answers can be different for each one. xamaxific's answer is assuming you are using Harlowe.
    If party = 2 on encounter, move on to X screen.
    The reason this line of code does not work is because in Javascript (which TwineScript is based on) the equal sign = is used to indicate assignment.

So your if macro was telling the story format to do the following:
    a. Change the value of the party variable to 2
    b. Check if the result of point A was true, which causes an error.