Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Printing and Comparing Objects in SugarCube 2

I'm a beginner to Twine and SugarCube 2 and need some advice in interacting with objects.
I defined a Weapon prototype in the Story Javascript as so:
window.Weapon = function(name, cost, damage) {
	this.name = name;
	this.cost = cost;
	this.damage = damage;
}

window.Weapon.prototype.hit = function() {
	return random(0,this.damage);
};

window.Weapon.prototype.prettyName = function() {
	return name;
};

In an init passage I created some weapons and set the current weapon to be dagger:
<<set $dagger = new Weapon("dagger",30,3); 
	  $smallsword = new Weapon("small sword",50,3)>>
<<set $weapon = $dagger>>

Inside a shop passage, I would like to first print out the current weapon's name and based on current weapon show options for buying other weapons:
Your current weapon is a <<$weapon.prettyName()>>.
<<if $weapon == $dagger>>\
	[[buy small sword]]
	(30 coins, does 3 damage)\
<<elseif $weapon == $smallsword>>\
	[[buy big sword]]
	(50 coins, does 5 damage)\
<<endif>>

The first line doesn't work and literally displays "<<$weapon.prettyName()>>".
This is also the case if I replace it with
$weapon.prettyName()
(without the double braces).
What works is
$weapon.name
correctly displaying "dagger".

My first question: is there a way to overload the way a variable is printed?
If I replace the first line with just
Your current weapon is a $weapon.
It will display [object Object] as expected. But I would like to define a prototype function, such as
toString()
that returns the correct string version of the object to print.
If not, how can I fix the call to weapon.prettyName() so that it can be executed rather than printed literally?

My second question: how can I do object comparisons inside Twine 2 and SugarCube 2?