Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Implementing Background Video

Hi,

I'd like to have background videos that preferably can change through the course of the story. I'd also like my finished Twine to be playable via Github and not just locally after downloading a zip.

I've searched around but have yet to find one that works... I'm very new to coding in general, so I may just be implementing them incorrectly. Here is what I've discovered so far:

https://gist.github.com/jonathan3/5647936 //I can't get this to work, even after putting "requires jQuery" in my passage. perhaps outdated.

https://codepen.io/dudleystorey/pen/knqyK //this was made for a plain webpage, but perhaps could be translated to Twine?

https://gist.github.com/nickg33/52e83017b80ee159d4d0 //only works in local browser

If any of these work, could someone explain where to put each bit of code? Thanks a bunch in advance! It would really mean a lot to me.

Comments

• I'm pretty new to twine, but I think the first link you posted won't work with Harlowe, the format that the web app uses. It's written for SugarCube instead.

In general, I've found that some bits of javascript work in a twine passage and some bits don't, even if they work in a normal webpage.

But, good news! I managed to get the second link you posted working. Paste the HTML straight into your passage, and the CSS into your story's stylesheet, and it "just works!". Pretty cool, huh?
  • In general, I've found that some bits of javascript work in a twine passage and some bits don't, even if they work in a normal webpage.
    The issue you may be having with your Javascript is probably due to Variable Scope, which can effect a normal webpage as well.