Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Harlowe click-append macro and variables

Hi,

I'm using Twine as part of a project I'm working on for university but I'm fairly new to Twine 2.0 so I don't know if this is possible in Harlowe or not.

In one of my passages I've got a sentence with the 'click-append' macro linked to one of the words to provide some extra information. Is there a way for Twine to remember that the extra information has been displayed and I can use it as a variable later? i.e if click-append macro is activated $somevariable is set to 'true' and then in a later passage I can call $somevariable to do something.

Any help greatly appreciated. Thanks

Comments

• You have basically answered your own question. *smile*

1. Initialise the Boolean variable.

Ideally this should be done in your story's startup tagged passage, but any time before the (click:) macro link is clicked is OK.
    (set: $somevariable to false)

2. Create the (click:) macro link that appends the information text and updates the Boolean variable.

note: I'm using the hook version of the (click:) macro because the String version searchers the content of the passage looking for every occurrence of the String.
    I have nothing to [fear]<word|.

(click: ?word)[
    	(append: ?word)[ but my own hand]
    	(set: $somevariable to true)
    ]

3. Do something based on the current value of the Boolean variable.

Generally this needs to be done in proceeding passages because by default (if:) macros are only processed at the time the passage is displayed.
    ''Checking for true''
    (if: $somevariable)[Descriptive text was appended]
    (else:)[You did not click on the link!]

''Checking for false''
    (if: not $somevariable)[You did not click on the link!]
    (else:)[Descriptive text was appended]

• Thank you!