Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

[Harlowe] Displaying Passage INLINE

Alright, so I'm very new to Twine but I'm starting to get it down. I try to steer clear of asking questions and scour the internet for my answer first. This particular problem is one I've been hunting down for about a solid week now so here I am.

I'm using an array for an inventory, and I'd like to have each item be clickable to open up a submenu within the inventory. At first I was using separate passages for each inventory item that held nothing but that item's submenu (and linking to a datamap defined earlier):

::Inventory::
(if: $inv's length > 0)[
You are currently carrying:
(print: $inv.join("\n"))[

(click: "Kaskade Multiband v3.7")[(display: "KMB")]
(click: "Passport Chip")[(display: "PassChip")]
(click: "Time Chip")[(display: "TimeChip")]
(click: "Sandgrain Pouch")[(display: "Sandgrain Pouch")]
(click: "Potion")[(display: "Potion")]
(click: "Transcript of email to mom")[(display: "XmasEmail")]

]]
(else:)[You have nothing of value.]

::PassChip::
(link: " Inspect")[\
	(print: $PassChip's description)]
(if: $multiband's isCarried is true)[\
	(link: " Install")[\
		(goto: "Passport Install")]]

This method works, but these submenus are displayed beneath ALL of the items in the array, and each subsequent submenu is displayed underneath the submenu above it. Not very organized. I assume it's because I am printing the array and defining the click links after the array is printed in full. So I tried a different approach. This time, I have a primary Inventory screen that begins a loop, and references yet another passage that contains the actual printed information. The idea being, I would print each value of the array separately, avoiding printing the whole array before the submenus can be called:

::Inventory::
(if: $inv's length > 0)[
(set: $n to $inv's length)
(set: $count to 0)
(display: "InvCount")

]
::InvCount::