Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

making options disappear on a page after one is selected

Hi everyone! I'm pretty new to Twine and coding in general, so excuse me if this is a silly question.

I'm using Harlowe. Currently I'm trying to make it so when you click an option, the other choices presented vanish and leave you simply with the result of your choice. I've found ways to do that with links to other pages, but I want to stay on the page.

First, I set the initial value to false on a previous page:
(set: $hair to 'false')

Then I list my choices on the appropriate page:
(unless: $hair is 'brown' OR $hair is 'red' OR $hair is 'black')[(link: "her soft blonde hair.")[ Her hair was blonde. (set: $hair to 'blonde')]]
(unless: $hair is 'blonde' OR $hair is 'red' OR $hair is 'black')[(link: "her chestnut brown hair.")[ Her hair was brown.(set: $hair to 'brown')]]
(unless: $hair is 'brown' OR $hair is 'blonde' OR $hair is 'black')[(link: "her bright auburn hair.")[ Her hair was red. (set: $hair to 'red')]]
(unless: $hair is 'brown' OR $hair is 'red' OR $hair is 'blonde')[(link: "her thick black hair.")[ Her hair was black.(set: $hair to 'black')]]

I could select the options all right, but the other options wouldn't vanish like I wanted. I also tried:
(if: $hair is 'false' OR $hair is 'blonde')[(link: "her soft blonde hair.")[ Her hair was blonde. (set: $hair to 'blonde')]]
(if: $hair is 'false' OR $hair is 'brown')[(link: "her chestnut brown hair.")[ Her hair was brown.(set: $hair to 'brown')]]
(if: $hair is 'false' OR $hair is 'red')[(link: "her bright auburn hair.")[ Her hair was red. (set: $hair to 'red')]]
(if: $hair is 'false' OR $hair is 'black')[(link: "her thick black hair.")[ Her hair was black.(set: $hair to 'black')]]

With the same results. Does anyone have any suggestions? I know this is really simple, but I really can't get it to work.

Comments

• edited November 2016