Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Universal/Continual Checks/Statements

Hello

I'm using twine 1.4 and sugarcane.

I want to create a passage where I can write if statements that will always be checked (at least I think that's what I want).

If I have a 24 hr clock, I want it to reset to 0 when it gets to 24. So I think I want something like:
<<if $time is gte 24 set $time = $time - 24 and $day = $day +1>>

So that any excess over 24 is added to the new day. Firstly, is that right?

Secondly, how do I make this a continual check so I don't have to put it in every single passage? Is that what 'script passages' are for?

While I think of it and I hope this is OK to put in the same question; what do I need to do if I want to override such a check?

Comments

• I'm new to Twine. Started on it 2 days ago. I have only seen Harlowe syntax but I can see what you are trying to achieve.

If you are resetting to 0 each day I would use

set $time = 0 rather than set $time = $time -24

As for making the statement check for every passage, one way to do this is to put the code in a seperate passage and mark it with a tag called 'header' or 'footer'. Passages marked header will be displayed on every 'turn' before other passages, so your code would be executed, then the passage displayed. Passages marked with 'footer' will be displayed on every 'turn' after any other passages so in that case the passage would be displayed and then your code would be excecuted.

I've used this technique in my own game to keep a track of the player's current 'location' in the story which I find useful if I want to check if certain other characters or objects are in the same 'location' or if I want to redirect them to a 'status' passage that should return the player to where they were before after reading.
  • ffs wrote: »
    If I have a 24 hr clock, I want it to reset to 0 when it gets to 24. So I think I want something like: