Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Using Twine for collaborative writing - Guidance needed (SC 2, PHP)

Happy new year, everybody!

As a language teacher, I started using Twine for collaborative writing in class and have my students alternately write different threads of interactive fiction.

Until now, I had my students send me their passages by mail, corrected & added them to Twine, exported HTML, etc.
I'd like to improve this workflow and add some features, which could make the writing task more attractive to students and a little less labor-intensive for me. I have some ideas, but am not 100% sure if they can be accomplished the way I imagined. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

1. Students should be able to "like" passages written by their fellow students. Each passage holds a button which shows the "likes" the passage received by then and increments upon clicking. The amount of likes is limited, upon the last possible click the new counter-information is stored on the server. I was thinking this could be accomplished with an object, which holds all passage names and counter infos, which is then sent to a php-script which saves the object in a text file on the server. For the loading part, I thought I could display the twine-html within a php file, which reads the above text and hands the object over to Twine / JavaScript. Is that a doable approach? Or could a php file read the object, save it in a cookie and the forward to the twine, where the cookie is read?
For the php-related part I'll need to hire somebody, so it would be good to have an idea of what's possible and what not.