Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Using Twine/Snowman as a component of a larger game?

I just started using Twine and was pleasantly surprised to see there's a way to control things pretty directly using JavaScript. Since I am an experienced programmer, I switched to Snowman and have mostly figured everything out already, but I'm wondering if anyone has any tips about using Twine as the dialogue engine for a game I'm writing in JavaScript. I assume it'll be importing Twine's playback code into my game, instead of using the HTML file Twine publishes.

Comments

• There is no "Twine playback code". Each story format defines its own syntax and feature set. Twine is only an IDE/compiler.

Chris will probably have his own thoughts on this, but I'll toss in my two cents.

If you only need/want Snowman's template system, then it may be easier to include Lodash or Underscore in your project as Snowman uses Underscore's template system.

If you need/want the rest of what Snowman offers, then forking its repository to pare back the published file to only what you need for inclusion into your project would probably save you a lot of time in the long run.
  • I would take a look at grunt-entwine and twine-utils. Both are intended to help you with a build workflow involving Twine stories. It depends a little on whether you want your Twine story to be the backbone of your project, or you'd rather glue the Twine data into existing code.

In the first case, where you're augmenting a Twine story, you can easily use entwine to merge in external JS and CSS to a final product. The second case would take a little more work. You could use twine-utils to parse your Twine story into JavaScript objects and then use that as an input for whatever build process you already have set up.
  • There is no "Twine playback code". Each story format defines its own syntax and feature set. Twine is only an IDE/compiler.