Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

The needs of a Text Adventure with RPG Elements?

edited February 2017 in Help! with 2.0
Hello everyone. I've been writing a story in Twine using its default story format for a very long time now but I've never wanted to publish my story using Twine since I felt it was only helpful in organizing my story.

I've looked for a game engine that could do what I've needed for well over 2 years now but my own shortcomings have made the task difficult. Just about ANY game engine could accomplish what it is I need, but I am NOT a programmer. I've learned several languages but am far from being competent with any of them and whenever I try to think for myself with the languages I know, my brain turns to scrambled eggs. Originally, when I first began writing my story in Twine, I thought Twine had limitations that made it impossible for me to create what it was I wanted within it. I know now that with some skill you can make some pretty fancy stuff with it. I think that I'd need to create my own story format to make the kind of game I would like with Twine however, and that's where my brain turns to scrambled eggs again. I'm hoping I can get some guidance and on where to begin and what kind of things I'd need to make in order to support the kind of game I'm making.

The kind of game I'm making would be part Visual Novel, part Text Adventure, part RPG and would be presented in the following manner:
gxyeeo.png
ofepem.png
mwvasz.png
(ignore the flavor text)

Here's a list of some features my game would need to function:
  • Web Fonts; specifically Cinzel or at least a way to use Cinzel as the primary font.
  • Text Color Coding; this would be needed to help the reader identify codex links of different types (people, locations, lore), as well as speech, attributes, and items.