Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Blank screen on debug/play -- how do I avoid? Sugarcube 2

Hi, I'm new to Twine (and loving it) but I am having a lot of problems intitialising the game either in debug or play mode. Most frequent problems are:

On debug/play, it returns to a story screen with only 1st version of my story saved (???)
On debug/play, it loads a blank white screen and nothing happens

Currently, I am struggling with the blank white screen. In the past, if I reloaded Twine a few times, it would work, but now there isn't anything I can do and it provides no information about what is wrong.

Would love it if anyone has any ideas as to how to get past this!

Using Sugarcube 2 on desktop version

Comments

• Would still like an answer to this, but basically I copied all my passages over to a new file, deleted all the old, and stopped using 'Publish to file' and just let it auto-save. This seems to have solved the problem, so either there was something wrong with the original file, or maybe it didn't like there being so many copies?

Regardless, I am fervently hoping this doesn't happen again since my story is now far too large and complex to copy!
  • Which version of the install-able Twine 2 application are you using?
  • Hello! I am using 2.1.0 on Windows 10. I may soon be transferring to a Linux-compatible version.
  • Hi All,

I'm using Twine 2.1.0 on Windows 8.1 with SugarCube 2.12.1 and am having this same problem when duplicating stories. I hit play on the duplicated story and the preview window opens, but it's blank. I've tried deleting the story and re-importing, and also deleting the local app data folder, but neither resolved the issue.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
  • Hi All,