Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Javascript with Sugarcube

Hi. I'm new to Twine and I've spent the last three hours trying to find something in the documentation or forum that explains my question, but I've completely failed. I'm sure this has been answered somewhere before. I'm sorry for asking again.

I want to run loops manipulate arrays in javascript using functions, and return those values for use in my normal twinecode. I really only need like three java functions for the game I'm planning on setting up, but I can't figure out how to call them from the Edit Story Javascript area. I read that for Harlowe I needed to use a global object, so I just sort of did that here for Sugarcube. IDK what I'm doing at all.

Can anyone explain to me how to make the following function run in Twine? Thank you so much for your time.
if (! window.rollevent) {
	window.rollevent = function() {
	  var sum = 0;
	  for ( i = 0; i < events_All.length; i++) {
		  var sum = sum + window['event_'+events_All[i]]
	  };

var i = 0;
	  var total = 0;
	  var random =  Math.floor( Math.random() * sum );
	  while (total < random) {
		  var total = total + window['event_'+events_All[i]];
		  var choice = events_All[i];
		  i++;
	  };
		return choice;
	}
}

Comments

• edited March 2017
    I can see that you're returning a value, but I'm not sure whether you intend for that value to be stored for later or if it is meant to be stored for later. In any case, you can create new SugarCube macros that directly run JavaScript, here's a generalized example of what you can do with it:
    Macro.add("myCustomMacro", {
      handler: function () {
        var storyVariables = State.variables; //If you can directly read/write story variables using this.

var text = "this could easily be the result of some function call";

storyVariables.exampleText = text; //this saves text to a variable called $exampleText