Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Feature request - more informative link arrows between passages

Because I'm more comfortable with a more featured programing language (even if javascript is a giant pile of terrible) and I keep adding game-type complexity to my twine story I find myself falling back to macros + javascript to generate many of my passages.

This is fine and works well enough (really wish I could have the javascript view visible at the same time as browsing passages, oh well) but it makes the overview page somewhat misleading as twine is unable to suss out links between passages that are being generated entirely in javascript.

Parsing function calls to suss out what they would generate, while an interesting problem, is probably excessively out of scope for twine development, but would it be possible to add a feature where, as a story writer, I could manually add arrow links between passages just for my own recordkeeping? They could/should be a different color to signify their comment rather than deduced nature, but it would still be nice to have.

Related, it would be quite nice if, rather than all passage links being the style of arrow, there were two types - the current "solid" arrows for links that are always possible, and a dotted-line arrow for links that are conditional (ie: appearing in if/else/switch statements), even fancier to incorporate the same for goto's.

If there's interest in the above I might be willing to help on the development side - I hate UI development with the combined nuclear intensity of every star in the galaxy but if someone wanted to pair up with me to handle that side of things and just dump the parsing logic on my plate I could code that back-end logic.

Comments

• edited April 2017