Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Changing days on life sim games

Hello. I am new to Twine( I am using Sugarcube2.14) and wanted to develop a life sim game. It is pretty simple and has only 2 locations right now so it isn't that complex. However I can't wrap my head around how to transition from one day to another.

Should I use a central passage with a BIG for loop with if statements to check whether the conditions for an event are being met? Or is there a more elegant way of doing it.

Comments

• I think we need more details. A simple variable that counts up can track the days that pass. I'm not sure why you need a loop in the first place, so talk us through it.
  • edited April 2017
    I use a $time variable I add +1 to.

However because my locations are complex, I replicate the central location for each turn, so every turn the player enters a "new" passage. Otherwise the <<if>> statement would be about 5000 lines long.

Then I have branching locations that won't substantially change between turns, so they don't get replicated. But every time you return to the War Room the game uses the $time variable to choose what passage you link to.
  • Chapel wrote: »
    I think we need more details. A simple variable that counts up can track the days that pass. I'm not sure why you need a loop in the first place, so talk us through it.
    Say I have two locations 'Home' and 'Office'. Events can take place only if $days gte finite value and $location eq "home"/"office" and $stat gte finite value and $time_of_day eq say 'Afternoon'. How do I implement this without creating new passages for each day.

Basically what I want is that in the event that there is no particular special event the game should display stock text that I will supply in a separate passage.

• A number of questions need to answers before designing an event system, some of them are: