Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Script doesn't work

Hello!
I am new to Twine (I use 1.4), and I have a problem with a script.
My passages are linked with images like that :
[img[image-1][1]]
I want these images to be placed randomly in the page.
I use this script but it doesn't work : (it works fine in a "normal" html page)
var largeurEcran = (document.body.clientWidth);
var hauteurEcran = (document.body.clientHeight);

var symbole = document.getElementsByClassName("internalLink");

for (var i=0; i<symbole.length; i++) {
symbole[i].style.left = Math.floor((Math.random() * (largeurEcran - largeurEcran/1.5)) + largeurEcran/3) + "px";
symbole[i].style.top = Math.floor((Math.random() * (hauteurEcran - hauteurEcran/2)) + hauteurEcran/4) + "px";
}

In the css of course there's a position:absolute; on .internalLink
I also tried with the tag "img".

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• It's midnight and I just returned from getting beat up at my Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu gym, but may I ask if you would be willing just to use the plain, regular random-selection macro built in to whatever story format you're using?

You also need to state which story format you're using, too. Sugarcane is the default.

In Sugarcane, this should work:
    <<print either("[img[image-1]]", "[img[image-2]]", "[img[image-3]]")>>

• Thank for your answer!

For the story format, I actually don't know which one I am using, but if you say Sugarcane is the default I suppose it is this one.

I think my post is not very clear, but what I want is not to display images randomly but to attribute to each image a random position (top - left) in the page with css and javascript.
  • I believe your problem is one of timing. You need that script to be executed after the current Passage has been assembled or else the internalLink classed elements will not exist yet.