Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

new to twine, need help.

edited October 2015 in Help! with 2.0
so far i have learned how to use links, however i am having trouble with figuring out how macros and other things work. can someone please help? right now i am trying to set up on occupation system, where if the player picks a particular occupation, he will have specific skills and whatnot and the game will remember which he picked. i also need help in figuring out how to setup an inventory system, health, etc.

i am using harlowe format, and dont have programming experience. help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• so no one wants to help a complete beginner learn how to use twine? it is very hard to follow the tutorials when i don't even know what they are talking about half the time, and trying to make sense of it is pointless unless i have step by step instructions for what i want to do.
  • Sometimes you need to be a little patient because not everyone is on-line at the same times you are, some people live in different parts of the world.

I suggest you start by first reading the Twine 2 Guide, it covers the basic usage of the Twine 2 application. You may want to read the Twine Index section of the Twine Wiki which is actually about Twine 1 but includes information about using macros and other features that are also in Twine 2.
    note: Although the format (syntax) of the Twine 1 macro examples are different to the ones in Harlowe they still work in a similar way.

After that have a quick look over the Harlowe documentation so that you have some idea of what features that story format has.

Once you have done the above you should know a little more about how Twine and Harlowe work together.