Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Setting "Night Time" and "Day Time"

Hi, I'm kind of new to Twine, and I'm currently using Sugarcube 2.x.
I would really like some help. I want to try and set it so that after say 15 turns (of going into different passages), a message shows up, e.g., "the sun is going down, you need to return to camp soon".

For me two things are important:
1. It's important to be able to basically have a counter from the start of the game, for certain things to happen during specific turns, ie in turn 20 you get attacked, in turn 30 a strange man appears, etc.
2. I would like so that if it's currently between turns 20 and 25(ie, full moon), a special door appears in a certain passage/room for example.

I hope it's nothing too crazy to make this possible. Would really appreciate any help!

Comments

• You have use a variable to track how many passages the Reader has navigated to and then use <<if>> macros in your passages to do things based on the current value of the variable.

1. Initialize the $turns variable.
    Add the following code to your story's StoryInit special passage, if you don't have one yet then create a new passage and name it StoryInit
    <<set $turns to 0>>

2. Increment the $turns variable each time the Reader navigates to a passage.
    Add the following code to your Story Javascript area, you access this area by clicking on the blue upwards pointing triangle in the lower left corner of the Passage Map.
    predisplay["Turns"] = function (taskName) {
    	State.variables.turns += 1;
    };

3. Check the current value of the $turns variable in a passage
    You can add <<if>> macros to the passages in which you want something to happen when the $turns variable has the right value.
    <<if $turns is 20>>You get attacked
    <<elseif $turns is 30>>A strange man appears
    <</if>>