Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New to Twine, how do I make a text box or input text?

Hi guys,

I'm new to Twine and I've discovered that Twine has thrown away the <<textinput>> format because I saw that this format used to be the old one. I've looked literally all over the internet, I don't know how to read codes, there's no information ANYWHERE on how to simply incorporate a text box aka let the player input text. I'm not talking about putting in their name, I'm talking about actually typing in something. To be more specific, I want the player to type in what it is they are afraid of. Please help, my game is due for a college project on Tuesday ): And as stated, I have no idea how to read codes so if someone could just copy and paste the new format that'd be amazing <3

Comments

• We need to know which Story Format you're using in order to help. I'm going to assume you're using Harlowe 1.2.4, which I think is the default for the latest version of Twine, but I unfortunately can't get the latest version to run for me, so I can't check right now.

In Harlowe, there is is not <<textinput>> macro or an equivalent, but you can use the (prompt:) macro to do something very similar:
    (set: $name to (prompt: "Enter your name:"))

You can then print the player's name in your story using the variable $name.
  • Chapel wrote: »
    We need to know which Story Format you're using in order to help. I'm going to assume you're using Harlowe 1.2.4, which I think is the default for the latest version of Twine, but I unfortunately can't get the latest version to run for me, so I can't check right now.

In Harlowe, there is is not <<textinput>> macro or an equivalent, but you can use the (prompt:) macro to do something very similar:

Yes I'm using Harlowe