Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Trying to make links disappear with variables

Hey!

It's my first time using variables and I've run into an issue I wonder if anyone could assist with. I hope this comes out making sense! I'm on SugarCube2.14

In the situation the player is posed a question and has five possible choices of answer. One is correct and will lead out of the "loop", and every other answer will lead to a passage with text specific to that answer, with the same choices as before minus the one they just clicked.

My attempt to do this was the following: I have two passages: startpage and startpage2.

In startpage the first link is
[[Pray?->startpage2][$pray to "true"]]

and in startpage2 I put
<<if $pray is true>>'That may be the dumbest thing I've heard all day, and trust me, I've heard a LOT of dumb sh*t today.'<</if>>

I did the same for the other resulting answers, and for the choices displayed in startpage2 I put
<<if $pray is false>>[[Pray?]]<</if>>
so that it won't display when you have already clicked it in startpage.

Anyone know if this is the right approach, or am I completely mad? I must be somewhat mad, because my version doesn't work - the startpage2 answer doesn't display.

Another issue I see with this is the empty space created by the hidden answers in startpage2.

I would really appreciate any help with this. Cheers,
Jellyfoosh

Comments

• There are potentially three issues with your examples.

1. [potential] Your example does not show when you are initialising the $pray variable to false, which you need to do because SugarCube's variables do not default to false.

Defaulting $pray variable to false in your StoryInit special passage will fix this issue.
    <<set $pray to false>>