Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Messenger style of stylesheet?

Hey guys! i'm kinda new in this software and i would like to know if it possible to make a messenger style Twine game/app ?

This is what im thinking of http://imgur.com/a/zxGbE

Comments

• The answer here is lots of CSS and clever use of display/include- and replace-style macros. There's no out-of-the-box solution to help with this that I'm aware of; you'll likely have to code it up yourself.

My suggestion would be to start with the CSS and get things looking how you want.

I would probably use SugarCube personally, if only for it's easier in-passage jQuery manipulation and widget system. After getting the CSS working right, I'd try to make a couple of widgets using <<include>>, <<replace>>, and <<append>> that automate as much of the 'chat' process as possible.

After you've laid the groundwork, you should be able to simply write your story the same way you would any Twine story.

Note that Harlowe could work, but would probably be a bit harder in this case.
  • You need to state the name and full version number of the Story Format you are using, as answers can be different for each one.

As @Chapel stated it is definitely possible, and there are at least two existing threads on this forum showing possible techniques for doing it.

a. Conversations like in a chat(sugarcube 2)

b. Chat like Conversations for Harlowe

• Thank you everyone
  • edited May 2017
    In addition to the advice mentioned, @21rv3 you might also want to have a look around sites like codepen where people post web development & design snippets. For example: here is a recreation of ios7 messages in CSS. The main styling comes from the message & to/from classes in the CSS. (The :before and :after pseudo-elements are just used to create the little curve in the corner of the message.)
  • @mikewesthad thank you it's pretty good :)
  • edited May 2017