Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Complicated if-else statement

Hey there, I'm pretty new to twine and I had a question on whether or not it's possible to create an if-else statement that takes into account some rather complicated variables or if I should find a workaround.

From what I can tell it's not possible to include multiple if's or else's within the same if-else statement, so I thought I'd try making two different ones. At it's most basic, it looks like this:

<<if $seen_2 eq "yes">>Text description if you've seen passage 2
<<else>>Text description if you haven't seen passage 2
<<endif>>

However, I'd like to make it so that if you haven't seen passage two but have seen at least one of two other passages that it will display different text. So I tried inserting another if-else statement, but I can't seem to get any sort of 'unless' statements to work. It looks like this:

<<if $seen_4 or $seen_5 eq "yes" unless $seen_2 eq "yes">>Text description if you've read 4 or 5 but not passage 2
<<else>>Text description if you haven't read passage 2 but have seen 4 or 5
<<endif>>

If anyone knows the correct syntax to get this all to work in one passage then I would be very grateful. Otherwise I might see about getting it to lead to one other passage so I can do what I want.

Comments

• edited May 2017
    We need to know which story format you're using and it's version. I can tell by the syntax it's SugarCube, and I'll assume you're using 2.18.0.

The statement
    <<if $seen_4 or $seen_5 eq "yes" unless $seen_2 eq "yes">>

has a few problems.

1. It's not checking if $seen_4 equals "yes", it's checking to see if $seen_4 is Boolean true.

2. 'Unless' isn't a valid TwineScript operator, though it is a Harlowe macro.

3. You could/should use Booleans to check for binary values instead of the string "yes". It's just generally safer and easier to understand.