Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How to do character creation in SugarCube

Hi there!
I'm really new to SugarCube and twine... or programming in general and I have a few questions. Mainly about character creation.
Now, I don't want to make something super fancy, but I'd like the players to be able to choose things like their race, hair color, eye color, etc.
Sadly I don't really know how to do it. I have a rough idea, but I don't really know how to work with array's and variables.
How would for example letting the player choose their eye color look like?
Thanks a lot in advance^^

Comments

• edited May 2017
    You probably need to give us more to go on than this. First of all, which version of SugarCube are you using?

Second, you need to think about how you want your character creation system to look and feel for the end user, and let us know how you plan to use the information from character creation (i.e. what actual effect will it have on the game?).

Generally it's best and easiest to have a design first and code from there.
  • edited May 2017
    Like it has already been said, it really depends on what kind of interface you're planning to give your game. I'm going to assume you're using the latest version of Sugarcube.

Here are a few ways - I've named the character creation passage "character" and made the staring passage send the player to it upon start:

1) Ugly but easy

This into your starting passage:
    <<set $eyecolors to ["amber", "blue", "brown", "gray", "green", "hazel", "red"]>>
    <<set $eye = "blue">>
    <<goto "character">>

This into the passage called "character":
    Choose your eye color: <u><<print $eye>></u>
    <<nobr>>
    -
    <<for _i to 0; _i lt $eyecolors.length; _i++>>
    	<<capture _i>>
    		[[$eyecolors[_i]|character][$eye to $eyecolors[_i]]] -
    	<</capture>>

<</for>>             
    <</nobr>>

2)Slider