Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How to Reference Element IDs with JavaScript Properly in Twine 2.0.3 Sugarcube

edited March 2015 in Help! with 2.0
I'm relatively new to Twine and JavaScript, but am attempting to use both for a study. I must use JavaScript to communicate variables to a server via php script. However, I'm having trouble understanding how to manipulate JavaScript within the Twine platform. I remember reading that the JavaScript is executed prior to the evaluation of statements within Passages, and that a united html document is delivered when "publishing to a file". I have found that html element id's established in passages cannot actually be referenced in the JavaScript page. How might I then reference such elements? Thus far, all I can get to occur is the alert("ready") popup.

Here is the final page of my game, after establishing all variables in the browser's local storage via the <<remember>> macro.

You have now left. This concludes the demo game.

<<remember $finished = true>>

<form action='results.php' method='post'>
<input type="submit" id="submit1" value="Submit Results">
</form>

<div id="thankyou">Thank You!</div>
The Story JavaScript page has...

//requires jquery
$(document).ready(function() {

$('#thankyou').hide();
alert("ready");
});

$('#submit1').click(function() {
alert("Results Sent!");
$('#thankyou').show();
});

Comments

• You can only target elements in an object model, either the current document's object model (a.k.a. the DOM) or another (usually the rendering buffer).  The text of your "final page" is not transformed into actual elements and made part of an object model until it's been rendered, so until that point it's just text in the system.