Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Player Inventory

I'm finally ready to start working on my roguelike's inventory system.

With equipment in games, usually each item has multiple purposes, aspects and attributes. I'm not really certain how to go about adding, removing and accessing them all in the player's inventory, or updating the various stats and whatnot when a piece is equipped or unequipped.

Here's one weapon in the game now:
<<set $WepName = "hatchet">>
<<set $Skill = $AxeMaceSkill>>
<<set $WeaponBon = 0>>
<<set $WepWoundMod = 1.5>>
<<set $Parry = Math.floor(($Skill * 0.5) + 3 + $CombatReflexes + $DB)>>
There will almost certainly need to be more variables before the game goes alpha.

I have a basic understanding of arrays. I use one to take three numeric variables, sort them, and then assign the highest value to another variable. Beyond that, I'm no expert.

Didn't want to reinvent the wheel. If someone has some advice or suggestions before I get too deep into this, I'm certainly open to them!

Keep in mind, though, I'm a total newbie. This is my first time ever working with Twine, CSS, or JavaScript and I don't even have a rudimentary understanding of the latter two!

Thanks! :)

Comments

• I'm not sure how fitted Twine is for a roguelike, but good luck.

L goes over using JavaScript arrays in this blog post http://www.glorioustrainwrecks.com/node/5034

For storing information about weapons, you might try JavaScript Objects.
    A quick example:
    <<set $axe = {}>>
    <<set $axe.name = "Axe">>
    <<set $axe.damageRange = [1,5]>>
    Object: <<print $axe>> which you don't use
    Name: <<print $axe.name>>
    Damage: <<print $axe.damageRange>>

This would allow you to swap in and out weapons with a simple
    <<set $weapon  = $axe>>
  • Wow! JavaScript Objects! I had no idea at all! Thanks a lot! :D

I'm very glad I asked, now! I'll toy with those.