Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Two Questions: Variables and Sidebar Display

Hi all,

I'm new to Twine and have been trying to learn by making a game and by using this forum and documentation, but I'm stuck on two things. Sorry if these have been covered before or are dumb questions - I've tried searching to no end. I'm using Harlowe/Twine 2.

1) Is it possible to set a variable to be either one of two things? For instance, if I were trying to make $party display either "Kitten Party" or "Puppy Party" completely randomly. Is there an easy (or even a convoluted) way to achieve this?

2) Is there a way to display a passage in the sidebar? For example, I've made a fake social media account that gets updated as you progress through the game and I'd like to have it appear in the sidebar. The whole thing is built in a passage, so I had assumed I would be able to (display:) it, but have not been able to get that to work. Any suggestions?

Thanks - I appreciate any help or suggestions!

Comments

• edited May 2016
    1. ... make $party display either "Kitten Party" or "Puppy Party" completely randomly ...
    You are closer to the answer than you realize, you can use the (either: ) macro to do what you want although there are two ways it can be used.

1a. Value is randomly determine only once, and there after the $party variable displays the same value.
    (set: $party to (either: "Kitten Party", "Puppy Party"))

party 1: $party
    party 2: $party
    party 3: $party
    party 4: $party
    party 5: $party

1b. Value is randomly determine each time you display the $party variable.
    (set: $party to '(either: "Kitten Party", "Puppy Party")')

party 1: $party
    party 2: $party
    party 3: $party
    party 4: $party
    party 5: $party

note: because 1b is random it is possible that all five outputs will be the same, if so then refresh the page until they are not. lol