Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Objects are Your Friends: How & Why to Use JavaScript Objects for Total Newbies

Greetings, new Twiners!

Objects can help even the newest Twine user. Generally, they are used in Twine to make variables more organized and code more legible. They can also greatly reduce the amount of code.

Let's get right to it.

This is how one creates and object in Twine:
<<set $foo = {}>>
Now, the variable $foo is an object. Who cares, right? ;)

Well, objects can have properties, like so:
<<set $foo= {
property1: "bar",
property2: 894,
property3: $baz,
}>>
More interested now? :)

Imagine you want to create several variables that represent the player. Instead, you can make one object with several properties like this:
<<set $player = {
name: "Jane",
height: 63,
weight: 100,
hair: "Blonde",
eyes: "Blue",
}>>
That's a lot more well organized and legible than seven different variables.

Let's say in the game, Jane gets her hair dyed to brown. To change her hair color, we would do:
<<set $player.hair = "Brown">>
To print the player's new hair color, we would do:
<<print $player.hair>>
That would print "Brown" without the quotes.

That being said, we could do something like this in a Twine passage, using setter-links to change the player's hair color:
Hello, <<print $player.name>>!

What color would you like to dye your hair?

[[Blonde][$player.hair = "Blonde"]]
[[Brown][$player.hair = "Brown"]]
[[Black][$player.hair = "Black"]]
[[Red][$player.hair = "Red"]]
Another thing one can do, cutting out several lines of code in some cases, is set one object to be another.

For example, lets say the player has a gun and that gun is a S&W .38 special snub-nose revolver. We might make an object like this:
<<set $gun = {
name: "S&amp;W .38",
maxAmmo: 6,
ammo: 6,
caliber: 38,
damage: 10,
}>>
Let's say the player finds a new gun, an M1911. Here's how it would compare:
<<set $colt45 = {