Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How "solid" is Twine?

I've been trying lots of things in Twine/Harlowe, and seems to be a powerful tool if taken seriously (by seriously, I mean: a tool to create really deep and complex games).

But I'm not a game developer, more like a curious, and there's plenty of options like Ren'Py. So can someone experienced tell me if Twine is really that "solid", and able to develop complex games? For example: a huge adventure with inventory system, lots of ways to complete it, battle and drop/equip items systems, etc?

Or after a bunch of code it will became sluggish? (I tried a page with dozens of if and either statements, and its visible slow to open.

Thanks in advance for any opinions.

Comments

• I'm not very experienced with Twine (yet) but I would say that if I was considering to make a game such as you described I would probably look more into engines such as Game Maker, RPG Maker, or Unity.
  • edited August 2016
    Here is my game playing with animation, and as you can see the FPS is pretty good:

If you want to have good performance you'll need to do some optimisations:

1. Run it as an app, not as a browser page. This can be achieved by packaging the html into nw.js. Browsers are pretty bad at running complex stuff without slowdown, especially if you have other programs running in the background.

2. Look very carefully at when the DOM change happens. As you can see in my video, the art animations and the passage text change happen at different time. This is a deliberate strategy to avoid everything being loaded at once. Especially since text rendering is quite a heavy process, so I try to not have too much going on while the game is rendering the passage text.