Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

auto-scroll group chat...format?

edited September 2016 in Help! with 2.0
so i'm a complete novice and i'm not sure if this is even possible? but i've been googling ferociously for two days because i really wanna make this happen.

i'm using sugarcube in twine 2.0.11 and i'm wanting to simulate a group chat happening in "live" time (i.e. a skype group chat, irc chat, texting). so, each line would automatically appear at intervals underneath the previous line, and the lines/dialogue/passage text are all contained in a window/box with a scroll bar. ideally the lines would auto-scroll upwards as each new message appears at the bottom, but if not, the user will have to manually scroll as they read!

i'm not sure if this is possible but thank you so much for replying if you do!! i know this is a huge ask! please let me know if you think i should be using something else.

here's a quick picture of what i have so far...it's basic content. i don't know how to contain the text in the border either unfortunately.
GxpzBhC.png

Comments

• edited September 2016
    so i discovered iframes? could be what i want but i don't know how to put the text inside it lol! plus i think that needs an external source for content which is no good for linking to the next passage?
  • I think what you need to look at is the Jonah Story Format. However, I notice you're using SugarCube, and I'm not sure if SC has anything that can do it, at least not simply.
  • Keep all the lines currently displayed in an array. Then when a new line arrives, simply remove the first line from the array and add the new line to the end.
  • edited September 2016